Q&A with Wishes Series Author GJ Walker-Smith

The amazing G.J Walker-Smith is the author of the Wishes Series and is an Australian beauty. Creating a world full of magic and heart, the Wishes is a wonderful series. I did an interview with the amazing author. Check it out below:

What was it like closing this chapter of your life, having written three books about Adam and Charli?
A little bittersweet. I’m glad I found them their happy ending, but a little sad that it’s over.

Is there one line in Storm Shells that sums up the whole three novels or what you love about Adam and Charli the most?
At one point, Charli says “True love is still true, even if you can’t live it the way you want to.” I think that sums them up perfectly. Try as they might, they’ve always fallen short of being happy together… so far.

Have you ever hated something you wrote or known at that moment you are going to have a lot of fans getting angry?
People will be frustrated by Adam, no doubt about it. I didn’t set out to make him flawless and perfect. I think it’s more realistic to have some of the qualities that we all have, whether they’re good or bad.

Are you happy with the way Adam and Charli’s story is wrapping up to be?
Yes. I’ve had their ending in my head from the very beginning. I just had to get them there.

What can we expect now that Storm Shells has been released? What projects do you have in the works?
I’m working on Alex’s back story – starting from when Charli was born. I think he’s led an interesting life. There’s a reason Charli is the way she is. I want to share it!
Ryan also has a story. I’m looking forward to working with him. 😉

Your characters are phenomenal, how was it coming to the end of the trilogy for Adam and Charli and how far they have grown?
Charli was only seventeen in Saving Wishes. I think she’s grown a huge amount. She’s twenty in Storm Shells. The decisions she makes in the third book shows how far she’s come. Adam has grown too, just in a different way.

What was the hardest thing about writing ‘Storm Shells’?
I knew it would be the last book in the story of Adam and Charli. I wanted to make sure it was all wrapped up with no unanswered questions lingering. That made it quite complicated to write. Hopefully I pulled it off.

Have you had any experiences with fans that have made you realize the impact your books have had?
I’ve had so many lovely emails and messages. When someone tells you that you’ve inspired them, or that they can relate to Charli, I want to cry. It means everything to me.

Does Tasmania hold any great meaning to why it is the location for your book?
I have family in Tasmania. My mum grew up there and I have a son in boarding school in Launceston. Tassie has always been special to me. The little town I based Pipers Cove on is one of my favourite places on earth. It seemed like the perfect place for a small town girl to meet the love of her life.

What was one of the most surprising things you learn while writing the Wishes Series?
I was surprised by how attached I became to the characters. I cared about what they said and what they were going through. That’s why finding them a happy ending was important.

Do you have any tips for your readers or advice for those who want to get published or are thinking about self-publishing?
Don’t hold back. If you truly believe in your story, go for it.

If you could tell your fans one thing/ is there one thing that you hope your fans have learnt from the Wishes series?
Ultimately, it’s a story about staying true to yourself. Charli never gave in. She always went her own way. I admire that about her and I think there’s a lesson in that for all of us.

I would like to Thank GJ Walker-Smith so much for taking the time to do a quick Q&A.

Storm Shells in now available through Amazon and Itunes. Links Below.
Storm Shells (Amazon) – http://amzn.com/B00GL47TK8
Storm Shells (Itunes)- https://itunes.apple.com/au/book/storm-shells/id687615493?mt=11
GJ Walker-Smith Facebook Page- https://www.facebook.com/gjwalkersmith

 

17820485

Leave a comment